Social Media: “That’s not for me!”

30 Jan

At least that’s what I thought as recently as Jan. 11, 2010.

In the past 10 years, I have not really had the need for a Facebook page, Twitter account, or any other social media profile. I tend to keep in touch will my family and a small circle of friends by telephone.

I graduated high school in 2000, three years before MySpace came into existence, and the most that I had ever used the internet for was research. Now it seems like social media networking sites are everywhere.  The first thing that classmates ask me when they want to keep in touch is, “Do you have a Facebook?”  When I say no people usually take a step back and look at me as if I have three heads.

This semester I am taking two classes with Professor Barbara Nixon (Social Media & Public Relations and Public Relations Writing) and I have decided to begin my own social media experiment.  In the last two weeks I have created a blog, a Facebook account, and a Twitter account.  I want to know if interacting and networking using social media is a way for people to make meaningful connections.

The last few days I have looked at both Twitter and Facebook user account pages.  Specifically looking at the number of followers someone has, the people they follow, and the types of comments or tweets the user sends.  I am interested knowing what users are trying to gain from their interactions on social media networking sites.

So far in my endeavor I have come across people who seem to have followers for the sake of having followers, people who have an interest in professional networking and promotion, people making connections with “old friends,” and the occasional spammer.

I’m curious to know….. What has been your experience with social media as a tool for promoting you and/or your brand?  Have you made meaningful connections?

2 Responses to “Social Media: “That’s not for me!””

  1. Barbara Nixon February 10, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Until I read this post, I would not have known how new you are to social media. You “get it” so well! I guess jumping right in with both feet helps.

    Barbara

    • Martine Howell February 22, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      Thanks! Just following your lead. I’m told all the time on Twitter how great you are. I already knew that after following you a few days on twitter, but it’s nice to have it confirmed by others. Usually online classes feel very isolated and that has not been the case at all in either of the classes I am taking with you.

      I’m learning so much already, but there is still a lot I have to learn. I can’t believe what I’ve been missing. I am already a Twitter-holic! Wish I’d jumped on the bandwagon sooner. Thanks again for introducing me to this ‘new’ social medium.

Leave a Reply

