So You’ve Tried WordPress.com, But What If You Want To Do More?

5 Feb

I’ve been using WordPress.com’s service for almost two weeks now.  I like the service and I find it to be fairly easy to use for a noob.  I’ve watched a few of the “how-to” videos on WordPress.TV and today I learned how to tidy up my front page using the more option.  Now my homepage only displays a short excerpt of my posts…But I’d really like to do more.

As an aspiring public relations practitioner I’ve spent a large amount of my time looking at the 79 themes available on WordPress.com’s website trying to find the “right” layout for my homepage, looking for “my brand,” but I haven’t been completely satisfied with the features currently available.  Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the current themes, they just don’t give my page the look that I would like for it to have.

Another issue that I have had with WordPress.com’s site is the fact that a user can’t download and install third-party widgets.  I would like to have the Eco-Badge displayed proudly on my site, but due to WordPress.com’s restrictions I can’t install the widget.  What’s a blogger to do?

I decided to do a little research on the internet to see exactly what I would have to do to create my own website.  I came across words like: domain name, web host, FTP, and MY SQL Database.  I felt overwhelmed by all the information.

I didn’t know where to buy a domain name, let alone know anything about finding a web host.  After turning to a Google video search I came across a video that was quite helpful on YouTube.  Ket-Sang Tai walks viewers through each step need to create a WordPress powered blog using the bloggers own domain name and web host. The video was recorded in three parts and the information is explained in a way that most users can comprehend.

Happy blogging!

WordPress Blog Tutorial 2

WordPress Blog Tutorial 3

4 Responses to “So You’ve Tried WordPress.com, But What If You Want To Do More?”

  1. Mackenzie April 1, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    First off let me just say: I love youtube! Seriously, you can find anything on there and it’s great that we can use youtube to help us with everything. Secondly, I love your templete it’s a really good layout! More importantly, I’ve been blogging for over a year now and I don’t really think I have realized how important it was until recently. I really have come to realize that blogging really does improve your writing. For me not exactly with grammar or spelling but it really helps me learn how to go from not being able to write about anything, to popping out topics. I think as a PR student we get frustrated with it, but at the end I’ve realized that blogging is essential to becoming a successful PR professional, and we should all be thankful we’re getting comfortable with it now, rather than later! I give you props for searching for help through blog tutorials!

  2. Sandra Lee April 20, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    WordPress has a great deal to offer once you learn the ropes. A great resource is http://www.onecoolbloggingsitetips.com (it’s not me!) Good luck with your blog.

    • Martine Howell April 21, 2010 at 7:07 am #

      Thanks for the tip and the well wishes! I will be a senior next semester and I plan on purchasing my own domain at that time. I’m still trying to find my blogging niche, but I’m sure that comes with experience. Any advice that can make my transition from WordPress.com to WordPress.org is always welcomed. 🙂

  3. depika4beauty March 7, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have bookmarked you to check out new stuff you post.
    http://www.hotmodelindelhi.com

Leave a Reply

