Social Media: Defined

6 Feb

This week for my social media class I was asked to read various tweets defining social media.  I was then asked to create my own personal definition.

Of all the tweets I read these three were my favorites:

@trevoryoung Social media is a catalyst for change – change in the way we connect with each other, change in the way businesses communicate with the world

@dbreakenridge Social media means listening carefully and learning to share valuable information that bonds people and builds strong relationships

@MarketingVeep Social media shrinks time and place’ it imposes a stark brevity; it leads strangers to each other; gives booming voice to a whisper; turns two legs into an army

I feel like each adds a different dimension to the definition of social media breaking it down into smaller segments.

It has been really tough for me working on my definition for this assignment.  I have written and rewritten this post trying to come up with my ‘perfect’ definition of social media.

So, after a lot of editing here it is:

@MartineRHowell Social Media: Collective gathering of information evolving ovr various networking platforms, shared easily by masses of ppl on a global scale

I had to TweetShrink my definition in TweetDeck to keep it under the 140 character minimum allowed on Twitter.  I’m still not entirely happy with my definition of social media, but I expect it to keep evolving over time.

Leave a Reply

