No, Not a New Router!

16 Feb

My piece of crap laptop is slowly dying, but my wireless router beat it to the punch and croaked first.  So, I did as any reasonable online student would and rushed to Walmart to buy a new router.

I had mixed feeling about the death of my router.  I was not happy with the range of my last router a Wireless-G LINKSYS router.  If I walked to the front door approximately 20 feet from the router I had no connectivity whatsoever.

This weekend I bought a new NETGEAR Wireless-N 300 Router along with the USB adapter I needed to make my laptop compatible with the router.  I starred at the new router for a while before installing it remembering how difficult of a time I had installing the last one.

Opening Pandora’s Box, I removed the router, connected the cables, and inserted the installation cd.  Following the onscreen instructions I clicked ‘next’ to install the router software; I easily setup a network security code when prompted and finalized the installation.

Next, I connected the Wireless-N 300 USB adapter to my computer and inserted it’s installation cd.  After two minutes that software was installed.

Now for the moment of truth: I clicked on my Mozilla Firefox internet icon and to my surprise I was connected.  Easy- Peasy!

Thanks NETGEAR for making my life a whole lot easier.

2 Responses to “No, Not a New Router!”

  1. Antonio March 7, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    For some reason, Linksys has been slipping a lot lately – NETGEAR seems to be sufficient….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments « The Mind of a young man! - March 7, 2010

    […] gucci mane, james kicklighter film festival, radric daivs, the car wash trackback Comment #6 No, Not a New Router! https://prsocialmedia.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/no-not-a-new-router/#comment-19 March 7, 2010 […]

Leave a Reply

