Social Media: Friend or Foe?

20 Feb

For PRCA 3030’s topic of the week I was assigned: “Social Media: Friend or Foe?” : Listen to Shel Holtz, Mark Ragan and others discuss “concerns and objections around the adoption of social media communication channel.”

 Being a very visual person, I was a bit scared that with my ADD tendencies I wouldn’t be able to sit through the entire podcast.  To my surprise Mark Ragan kept me engaged the entire time.  His idea to role play was great and it offers listeners many arguments for social media implementation.

In this podcast Ragan acts as moderator and gives real life examples of barriers and questions you may encounter when trying to convince the CEO to embrace social media.  There are many concern and objections to adopting a social media communications channel for those who are not familiar with the many free, open-source software available.

So, why should your company embrace social media?  It provides instant communication and the chance to be transparent.  If people can get in touch with your company easily you are better able to serve them. 

 Additionally, if you are transparent with your customers they are more likely to trust you.  Forums are a great way to allow for ‘open door communication.’

In the podcast Ragan  asks what should your company do if someone posts something negative; Should you get the lawyers to serve stop papers or should the company issue a response?  The answer ofcourse is to give a human response, be transparent and tell your side.

Another question posed was: Should the CEO write their own blog posts or can they just use a ghost writer?  CEO’s should write their blog even if they dictate it and have someone else transpose it.  Additionally, many times the need for responses to individuals can be lessened by posting a blog post addressing raised issues.

I loved the podcast!  I’ve been following Mark Ragan on twitter for a at least a month.  Now after listening to this podcast I am even more impressed.  Thanks Mark Ragan!

One Response to “Social Media: Friend or Foe?”

  1. Mackenzie April 1, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    I agree with you, I was nervous about sitting through this Podcast as well, as I usually like to see something visual infront of me. However, I was pleasently surprised when listening to the podcast! I think it was really cool how they discussed the importance of social media with businesses. I really didn’t realize all the cool things that companies can do with social media! Also, I guess because I am around social media so often, I didn’t realize that people didn’t get why social media is so important! I thought EVERYONE realized it’s value! I honestly feel that if any company is going to do well they need to use social media. It’s the best way to reach out to their consumers, becaue their consumers are using social media. Companies at the LEAST should be mointoring their company through google alerts, just to see what people are saying about them, and fix any of the bad!

Leave a Reply

