One Week of Twitter

26 Feb

Tweet!!! Tweet!!! Tweet!!! As a class in PRCA 3330 we were all required to tweet for one week. Each person was to send out as least 20 original tweets and respond to at least 5 classmates.

I set up a Twitter account seven weeks ago as part of my own personal social media experiment.  I don’t use Twitter everyday, however I am on it a least five days a week.

Initially, I had snubbed Twitter thinking to myself, ‘Who cares where you ate lunch?’  I figured the whole thing was just a fad and expected people to quickly get bored and move on to the next best thing.

After using Twitter for only one week I was addicted.  I have ‘met’ some really great public relations professionals and students using Twitter.  I learn at least 10 new bits of information a day using Twitter that I might have not otherwise ever heard about.

I noticed that many of my PRCA 3330 ‘tweeps’ didn’t use Twitter very much during the assignment week.  In fact many logged in on one day and completed the assignment.  I’m not one to judge, but I don’t see how they got much use out of what was supposed to be a weeks worth of learning.

Additionally, many of my classmates did not respond to messages that I sent to them.  I know a few of the people who I sent messages to and I’m inclined to think that they didn’t know to check their @ mentions.  The others I’ve noticed haven’t logged in since I sent them messages.

Anyone else who didn’t respond back once I find to be rude.  It’s kinda like driving the back roads to Georgia Southern.  You pass many people on your way, many of them wave as they drive past.  Do you not wave just because you don’t know the person waving at you?  Or do you act cordially and smile and acknowledge the person who initiated the contact?

I choose to acknowledge people just as I would expect them to acknowledge me.  I suppose it’s a personal choice.  I feel that if you are going to practice public relations a class assignment consisting of a week of Twitter is a great place to practice and hone those skills.

I’ll continue to use Twitter on a regular basis for both personal and professional networking.  Anyone not using it is really missing out!

As a class in PRCA 3330 we were all required to tweet for one week.  Each person was to send out as least 20 original tweets and respond to at least 5 classmates.
Leave a Reply

