Ke$ha the Next Gaga?

18 Apr

Last night pop-rap singer Ke$ha perormed ‘Tik Tok’ and ‘Your Love Is My Drug’ on Saturday Night Live. Then, I happened upon a story this morning that questioned whether or not pop-rap singer Ke$ha is the Lady Gaga of 2010.  Puh-leeeeze!!!!!

During the performance I found myself wondering why Ke$ha’s sound was so familiar.  I can’t stand the slurry-snobish way Ke$ha sings which makes the catchy song ‘Tik Tok’ sound as bad as nails on a chalk board to me, but I knew I had heard a sound like her’s in the early 90’s.  Her singing almost reminded me of the intro to ‘Baby Got Back’ by Sir Mix-A-Lot.  Come on you know it: “OMG Becky.  Look at her butt. It’s just so BIG.” 

I knew my brother would know the song I was thinking of as he is a musical know-it-all.  As soon as I spoke with him and uttered the words Ke$ha…heard the sound before, he began singing:

It was me and the posse with Bunny (D)
We were cruising in the Jags and the Lamborghini,
When lo and behold there appeared a mirage,
He was hooking up a car in his daddy’s garage.

I instantly recognized the song as being ‘Cars With the Boom’ and my brother and I sang along together:

For comparison here is a video of Ke$ha singing ‘Tik Tok’ on SNL:

Even better I think is iJu$tine’s spoof.  I think she sings better than Ke$ha personally and I can relate to the song being an Apple junkie:

Up next one word…GAGA!!!

When Ke$ha can pull off an acoustic vocal performance as Gaga does then Ke$ha might stand a chance at staying on the charts, but she will never put on a show like Gaga.  Gaga’s performance at the Brit Awards shows how her stage presence transcends her voice and that is not something that is learned.  You either have the “larger than life” presence or you don’t.

 Additionally, Ke$ha is trying with the hair, make-up, and outfits to make some sort of statement, but right now her statement screams ‘I need a stylist!’  Although often tacky and eccentric, Gaga’s outfits are I like a Picasso painting…Strange at first glance transforming into a definite statement whether it be a political, social, or personal statement.  I like many other people expect Ke$ha’s light will soon fade if she doesn’t step it up a notch with her next cd release.

(Side Note: I think Ke$ha’s outfit from SNL looks like a rip from Gaga’s ‘Superwoman-Telephone’ outfit.)

13 Responses to “Ke$ha the Next Gaga?”

  1. Erica Campbell April 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    thank you for bringing attention to the epidemic of sing/talking/rapping that has spread through out the music community. That clip from the eighties is hilarious! I heard on the radio once that Ke$ha and Lady Gaga were god sisters? Weird, I haven’t looked to see if that was true though! I’m an apple addict as well and I have to agree with you- iju$tine’s very is sung better and I like the theme better!

  2. mbutle April 19, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I love that Tik Tok song, but your right as soon as I heard it I immediately thought of lady Gaga. She is like a watered down Lady Gaga withouth the cool factor. Although I do think that something is slightly wrong with Lady Gaga after listenining to her music. I think that the weird thing really works for her. I love all of her performances, although they scare me a little. I can never take my eyes off of them. I think she has a great team around her.

  3. ladylondon2455 April 21, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Kesha has good music. But I could never compare her to GaGa. I feel Lady Gaga has what alot can’t bring and that’s the whole package. Her style is captivating, music is just what we want to hear, and performances are ah-mazing. Another thing to note is that Lady Gaga was not always this amazing artist we see today but one thing she did was find her edge and went with it. Kesha still has time to do the same.

  4. Chris Yates April 26, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of Lady Gaga or the curiously spelled “Ke$ha,” but I have to respect them for being the at the top of their genre and pretty much dominating compact disc and mp3 sales in the past year. It’s interesting that you included some youtube videos, because I think that the proliferation of their music on social media sites really helps their publicity. This is kind of off the subject of the sing/talking/rapping genre that Erica described, but think back to the very beginning of Youtube. OK Go’s “Here We Go Again” was a viral smash that simultaneously put their band as well as Youtube on the map. This is the new age of marketing music to both young and old people, and since the OK Go video (I think it was 2006), no one seems to care anymore that MTV doesn’t play music.

    • Martine Howell April 26, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      I care, I care!!! I miss the days of MTV having V-Jay’s (are you old enough to remember that?) like Downtown Julie Brown and Kennedy and I wish they would still play music videos. I think that most social media users figure that since they can’t watch videos on MTV they might as well make the best of it by having all video access all the time. iTunes will even sell you the music videos for you to download them on your iPod or iPhone. I think MTV ‘cut off its nose to spite its face’ so to speak when the station quit playing videos and instead opted for a lineup of ridiculous “reality shows” that don’t resemble my reality or the reality that most of my friends encounter.

      YouTube does offer an advantage to unknown singers and music video makers looking to make a name for themselves. I don’t know if corporate MTV would have embraced social media music makers or if MTV would have shunned them. Thankfully MTV doesn’t have to make that choice and those of us who still like to watch our music videos can find: What we want, when we want it, and whenever we want it. I guess you can say that…YouTube killed the MusicTeleVision star.

  5. mblubaugh April 26, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    The comparison between Kesha and Lady GaGa really bothers me. Yes I think Lady Gaga is bizarre, but it is in a very couture and chic way. She reminds me a bit of Madonna in the sense that she is doing things that cause a bit of a stir, get people talking, and they are things that haven’t been seen before. With Kesha, however, she just seems (in my opinion) like a bratty girl who is always on drugs, thinks she is entitled somehow, and relies on modern technology to make her voice and her music sound good.
    I loved loved LOVED the video you posted of Gaga’s acoustic performance. She is really amazing and so interesting. She has some real confidence doing all the things she does and being so completely comfortable with herself and her style.
    Also, that video from the 80’s is hilarious, and I definitely see the similarities you were talking about between them and Kesha.
    Sadly, I must admit that I do dance when Kesha’s songs come on…

  6. sharita wilkinson April 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Hell no! Never ! I have no idea what her PR team is doing. I mean the drugy look can only work but so much for her. She she even really on drugs ? Has she ever been. I know she has told the whole world (anyone who would listen) that she was so poor she could not buy a taco. But shouldn’t someone start cleaning her up soon? I think so. Having drug references in everyone of your songs can only take you but so far. I even wonder if she can really sing. Lady GaGa should be compared more to Patti LaBelle back in the day) and Grace Jones. I have started to notice some back lash on Lady Gage since the comparisons have come out. Plus Akon ca not keep his mouth shut saying how everyone is copying Gaga style.

  7. relentlessreverie April 30, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    This was such an interesting post! As an unclaimed Lady GaGa fan, I think it is absolutely ridiculous that anyone would say that she can be equated in any way to Ke$ha. Although GaGa is a bit weird, I agree that it works for her, and that she is possibly the millennial version of Madonna. Her uniqueness in style and in sound cannot be matched or compared to any other current musician, in my opinion.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments « J'aime des relations publiques - April 19, 2010

    […] Ke$ha the Next Gaga? ; Martine […]

  2. Comments « The Maranda Writes - April 19, 2010

    […] Ke$ha the Next Gaga? April 18, 2010 April 19th, 2010 at 8:33 pm […]

  3. These Are My Words: my comments on other blogs « Weekly Dose of London - April 21, 2010

    […] 13. Ke$ha the next gaga […]

  4. Blog Comment 1 « Wait…What does "PR" mean? - April 26, 2010

    […] https://prsocialmedia.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/keha-the-next-gaga/#comment-66 […]

  5. My thoughts on Others « Rita's Blog - April 27, 2010

    […] https://prsocialmedia.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/keha-the-next-gaga/#comments  […]

Leave a Reply

