New Android Phone!

5 Jun

This Memorial Day I went to Verizon and upgraded my old Motorola Q phone to a Motorola Android. I love my new phone!

I was a little apprehensive about the change, but seeing as how my old phone kept powering down for no reason I knew it was time. After walking into the Verizon store I was greeted by Stuart. I was a little less apprehensive about the purchase because I graduated with Stuart and I trust his judgment.

I told him what I was looking for in a phone he suggested either the Black Berry or the Android. The old phone I had looked a lot like the Black Berry and even had similar buttons. The buttons on my old phone were so small and slick, and with my long nails it was difficult to text. So, it was an immediate “no” to the Black Berry.

Stuart then showed me his phone which was the Android. It has a touch screen and he said the market had a lot of different apps that I could download for all of my social media needs.

The keyboard is flat and smooth, plus the touchscreen has a touch keyboard. I tend to use the touchpad for short searches and I use the slide out keyboard for writing posts…such as this one. 🙂

The first app that Stuart had me download was the Advanced Task Killer. This program shuts down any apps you select that maybe using up your battery and phone memory. This is a must have! Next, I downloaded the Twitter, Word Press, Facebook and LinkedIn apps. All of the apps were free. So far all the apps work great. The only downside is that the Facebook app won’t let you view your messages.

I’m still searching the market trying to find some cool new apps for my phone. Any suggestions?

4 Responses to “New Android Phone!”

  1. amylynn0711 June 21, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    My best friend just got the droid and she loves it! I have the blackberry and I am considering switching so I can get in the “droidzone”! That’s now a term on urbandictionary.com! Pretty funny! I would suggest getting the Weather Channel app! I have it, and I find myself obsessing over the weather all the time!! Hope you’re enjoying your new phone!!

    • Martine Howell June 24, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Come to the Dark Side…Lol. (Star Wars/George Lucas reference for those who have never seen the films.) I would definitely switch if I were you. The keys on the blackberry are so small like my Motorola Q, and the keys are very slippery. I love the droid and the market is really catching up with the Apple Market. I just downloaded the Documents2Go app that allows you to view word documents so I could view word files my professors send me.

  2. amylynn0711 June 28, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    Found one this weekend that everyone should appreciate. Download the App “where is my droid?” and you can text “where is my droid?’ from anyone’s phone and your phone will respond with the latitude, longtitude, address, and a link to googlemaps to show where your phone is located!! Pretty genius, if you ask me!!

  3. Martine Howell July 9, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Wow! That is a neat one. Thanks so much for sharing. =) I will have to try that one out. People are coming up with the neatest things to do with technology. I just purchased Documents To Go by DataViz to view and edit word documents, PDFs, spreadsheets and powerpoints on my phone. So far I am very pleased with the purchase. Plus the software was discounted, an added bonus. If you do a lot of work/school work from your phone this is app is a great addition.

Leave a Reply

