Twitter for Public Relations Students

28 Sep

This week in the public relations writing class that I am assisting with the assignment calls for students to spend one week tweeting on twitter.

I decided to update an old post from my PRCA3030, Social Media, class and re-post it with some tips for students in my class.

Listen to this episode

Twitter For Public Relations Students: Episode 1
1. Introduction

2.What is Twitter?

3. Why public relations students should use Twitter

4. A few people I follow and why

5. How to begin using Twitter for Public Relations

  • Listen
  • Think
  • Personal Branding
  • Contribute
  • Be courteous
5 Responses to “Twitter for Public Relations Students”

  1. carriebethabramson April 13, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I am really impressed with your podcast! I just listened to my first one earlier today when I was doing my TOW for PR Writing so I was really interested in listening to one from a PR student instead of a PR professional. In my opinion, yours was just as informative as the PR professional one! It was really helpful by informing the audience of what Twitter is and why it is important to us as PR students to update our Twitter and follow PR practitioners. I don’t think many people realize Twitter helps us to stay connected and establish relationships with people already in the field as well as other PR students from different schools. As a fellow Twitter lover, which I assume you are too, I think you covered all the basics! I know when I started Twitter, I had no idea what a hash tag was or what to do with my account so I wish I could have listened to your podcast sooner in the semester, it would have been beneficial and I am sure it will help many Twitter beginners that read your blog!

  2. jfneff March 6, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Awesome podcast! I am a public relations student at the University of Oregon, and as someone who has just recently become active on twitter, I found your tips to be very helpful! Thanks for posting!

    • Martine Howell May 13, 2011 at 2:29 am #

      Thanks so much! Did you now you can link your Twitter and Facebook pages together? When I have the time I plan on writing a few more posts and doing some podcasts to help people become more familiar with how to use all this technology to their benefit. Good luck at the University of Oregon!!!!

Leave a Reply

