Setting A Featured Image

5 Oct

Many students in my PRCA 3330 PR Writing class are learning how to develop and craft their writing skills and learning ways of branding themselves and their work so that they present the image the want the public to see first.

A great way to show off  your writing style and complement your posts is to add photos to your posts.  WordPress now has the option of adding a photo as a “Featured Image” and that is the first large photo that readers will see displayed above your latest post in the “featured image” category.

It took me a while to learn to feature an image, only because I didn’t know where to look while adding the picture to my posts.  If you don’t remember to set the image as the featured image when you add it to the post don’t worry you can always set it after you finish editing the post.

Setting the featured image is very easy and it can be done while you add the picture to your post.  Simply click the “add an image” button in your editing toolbar, and then scroll down to find the image you wish to use from your image library or upload the image you wish to use from your computer.

After you have selected an image to insert into your post and before you insert the image, scroll down and beside the “insert into post” button you have the option to “set as featured image.”  Click the button to set the image to the featured image and then insert the image into your post.

If you have already inserted the image into a post and you would like to go back and set the image to being a featured image you should first open your post for editing.  Scroll down to the bottom of the edit post page and on the right side column you are given a “set featured image” box which allows you to set the featured image.  Just follow the same steps above after you click “set featured image” and you are done.  Easy-peasy!!

The assignment for PRCA 3330 students this week had students taking Poynter’s News University’s LEAD Lab.  What other better way to lead with your blog posts than to use a great picture?

(Sidenote: You can use one image in your post and set another image as your featured image without even adding it into your post.  Just click the photo and click set as featured image without inserting it into the post itself like I did.)

10 Responses to “Setting A Featured Image”

  1. rarunner86 July 9, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    I love the ostrich picture; it made me giggle! I really like the advice for blogging. I was so intimidated when I first learned we had to create and maintain our own blogs. I have been struggling to insert images into my blog because I can’t get them to go where I want. Everytime I insert a picture it’s in an awkward place so I just gave up! Thank you so much for this post! You make it sound so simple! Now I think I’m going to go back and add pictures t my previous posts before submitted my blog.

    • Martine Howell July 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

      Glad you liked the ostrich photo. It made me giggle to which is why I thought it was perfect for this post. I’ll be checking out your blog to see your photo progress. It will be interesting to know just how easy you found it to be when actually adding the photos.

  2. photito July 10, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    This is really handy – as a travel photographer and writer I have felt lost – annoyed – trapped by not having the knowledge to place my photos where I want in the text. It’s simply not the same when the photo of the beach I’m writing about appears too far down in the lay out… Thank you SO much for sharing this!

    • Martine Howell July 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      Glad I was able to help you out. I agree with you and I love that the featured image is highlighted at the top of the post so that is not lost in the “sea of words” in the post. Do you use all of your own photos on your site?

  3. 364SHOES August 17, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    hi, could you help me to solve my problems in managing my blog?
    Basically I create my blog/web following WP Structure Theme, and i’ve successfull in creating featured image.
    but the problem is:
    1. How to make Featured image shown as slideshow image as demonstrated in demo link below:
    http://organicthemes.com/demo/structure/ ? (Front Page image)

    2. How to show up image on the Tag Post or Category Post page?
    Even I set up Featured Image for any post, the images are not shown up on Tag post page/catefory post page.
    There are only text.
    Example: if refering to your blog, i see your post link as Category Post Page / File Under Page :

    https://prsocialmedia.wordpress.com/category/prca-4711/
    then compare to
    http://organicthemes.com/demo/structure/category/featured/

    I see, on your post, there are only text without Image’s post
    but at the Structure Theme demo site/link, there are those image’s post…
    How do I make similar as Structure demo post style?
    Did you know and can help me?

    3. How to hide/delete “Possibly Related Posts links (automatically generated)” on each post that I had made?
    These links are appear on the bottom of my post….

    I hope you/anyone can help me to solve this problems.
    Thank you

  4. southernbluestocking April 10, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    This is quite helpful- and I like your theme! (looks a little familiar…)

    Have you come across the problem of the featured image not showing up when the site is accessed via individual blog post link? I regularly use featured images (need them in the featured posts widget, which I love) but if I post a link directly to an individual post on another site (say FB, or another blog) when you follow that link back, the featured image doesn’t show up. Only shows up when you are scrolling through the posts from the main page. Any ideas?

    • Martine Howell May 13, 2011 at 2:24 am #

      Yes I have had the same problem…what I usually do is add the image again in the post and make sure to only show the portion of the post on the main page that does not have the picture as not to be redundant on the main page. Also, sometimes I will add a different picture in order to have a graphic in the post. It all depends on preference. Hope this helps. 🙂

  5. Thomas April 10, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    This post was a huge help to insert the featured image when I changed from Bueno to Morning After. Now back to manually reformatting all the posts so they don’t look so funky. Thanks again.

  6. Author August 15, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    I just used your site by searching out wordpress forums covering the utilization of a featured image. Thank you so much for the step-by-step instructions posted here.

    Corey

  7. Author August 15, 2012 at 4:48 am #

    Thank you for the instructions as to how to utilize a featured image. I found your post from searching WordPress forums under help. Thanks again. Corey

Leave a Reply

