Podcasts

9 Nov

A few months ago I bought an i-Pod touch and experienced listening to a pod cast for the first time.

The last few months I’ve been working on organizing my massive mp3 and music video library using i-Tunes, and although I’m not quite done I can see the end in sight.

I have been an avid music collector for years and it wasn’t until I was given an assignment on podcasting that I realized I should begin looking into downloading and subscribing to podcasts.

Looking at the i-Tunes store’s selection I was surprised by the number of audio and video podcasts available for download.  There are Sesame Street podcasts for kids, news podcasts, religious podcasts, how-to podcasts, podcasts on music and even podcasts on podcasting.

I felt like a kid experiencing Disney World for the first time as I didn’t know where to start and there are so many topics to choose from.  I am trying to keep the number of podcasts I subscribe to at a minimum.  I want to learn about new things, but I don’t want to waste too much time looking for podcasts either.

I find that searching for information on the internet already eats up a lot of my time as does tweeting.  I stumbled across Podcast.com while on my search for podcasts and it is my favorite of all the sites I’ve seen so far.  Again, on this site there are audio and video podcasts available for download.

The biggest difference that I’ve noticed between i-Tunes and Podcast.com is the ease of navigation.  Using i-Tunes I have a hard time finding podcast categories.  I can find the search option, but I really have no idea about what I’m looking for.

Usually I’m just browsing for something new and interesting.  A podcast that makes me want to know more about the subject.  Podcast.com is great for this purpose.  The site layout is pleasing to the eye and very easy to navigate using Windows like folder browsing in the sidebar.  I was happy to find channels like HBO, Discovery and PBS on the site.

Do you have any podcasts that you enjoy listening to?  Please share!  =D

3 Responses to “Podcasts”

  1. lauren2689 July 10, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    I too am an avid collector of music, but my lap top is not the greatest so I’m afraid to download i-tunes because it is one more thing to make my machine run slower. Until I read your post, I had no idea that there were so many podcasts available for download. The one that really suprised me was the Sesame Street podcast for children to listen to; kids these days are so tech savvy that I feel as though I am getting behind the times and I need to start utilizing the technology available at my fingertips. I might need to check into the how-to podcasts, they seem like they could be extremely helpful to someone like me who wants to learn more about social networking.

    • Martine Howell July 12, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

      I know the Sesame Street podcast really surprised me as well. I still haven’t figured out a way to download it to my sons music player, but I may “upgrade” his little player to something that I can link through i-Tunes. And yes, the How-To podcasts can really come in handy for learning new things.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PRCA 3330 Blog Comments « Lauren O's Blog - July 10, 2010

    […] Podcasts Martine Howell […]

Leave a Reply

